Alaboutnothing Official Blog

March 4, 2011

Near Death Experience (NDE)

Filed under: Nothingism — alaboutnothing @ 4:48 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Recently a friend of mine was telling me about a dream he had.  The dream was one of those “unworldly, spiritual-like” dreams where complete peace is the result.

After listening and thinking about how these experiences come about, I was reminded of a Near Death Experience (NDE) that I experienced many years ago.  In fact, I had forgotten about it till now and hadn’t told anyone about it until now.   I was in my teens at the time and when it was all over I thought I was lucky to have survived the incident along with the other kids involved.  More details on this below.

When my friend told me about the dream I did some research and found that many others have experienced NDEs. Most of these experiences, it seems, involved people who were in traumatic situations such as major surgeries where they find themselves hovering over the table in the operating room watching the operation take place.  Some involved auto accidents where they found themselves hovering over the scene, watching themselves and the others lying about.

Mine wasn’t like any of those and here is a quick description of the circumstances leading up to my NDE, the experience itself, and the outcome.

The time was approximately 2:30 AM CST and the place was Freeman Lake in Monticello Indiana.  I had just turned nineteen and I was one of twelve passengers in an overloaded boat that flipped over early that summer morning.  I was sitting in the front seat and there was one person to my left and four others to my right with the driver at the far right.  When the boat began to flip over I could feel the rear sink down and it began to roll to the right.  The last thing I remember is feeling water on my ankles.

The next thing I remember is being in total blackness with a very small light off in the distance in front of me.  I was moving toward the light and as I moved the area around me started to lighten to gray and grow brighter as I moved forward.  I sensed a wonderful peacefulness and calm.  I can only describe it a pure bliss.  Then all of a sudden I stopped moving and voice said, “We are sending you back.  You have many things you need to complete in your lifetime before you come back here.”  I remember thinking “Please don’t send me back I want to stay!”  I then began moving backward very fast.  All of a sudden I was back in the total darkness.

Still in a peaceful state of mind I noticed that my arms were extended above me.  When I pulled them down I rose up and broke the surface of the water I was in and found myself on the side of the overturned boat where I had started.  There were people all around the boat clinging to it.  Everyone seemed to be talking loudly at once and then finally the driver of the boat was on top of the hull and he yelled “Every one shut up and let’s count off!”  We did and two people were missing.  The driver promptly dove in to the water and retrieved the two people who were still under the boat and brought them to the surface.  He placed them on the hull out of the water and then because he knew I could not swim, pulled me up on the hull.  Other boats that were in the immediate area began pulling up and taking survivors aboard and eventually back to land.

Thankfully all twelve passengers survived the accident.  We all discussed the accident afterwards and I really don’t remember thinking about the NDE until about a week later and then because I was so thankful that everyone survived, it really did not mean that much to me at the time.

As I recalled it in days to follow, it seemed that NOTHING seemed to matter as much as prior to the experience.  The peacefulness stayed with me for quite a while and everything seemed to be in perfect place…no thoughts disturbed me.  Soon, the euphoria slowly slipped away and I was back to “normal,” with everyday concerns, schedules and so on.

I must say, I didn’t know what to make of it all since these occurrences were not widely spoken of at that time, but I knew that there was work for me to do and I heeded this message throughout my life.

I’m very interested in any comments and/or experiences you’d like to pass along.

I’ll surely enjoy reading anything you have to share.  If you would like, I can post your experience(s) in a separate blog on this subject.  Let me know.

I have nothing else to report at this time and want to say thank you folks out there in cyberland for taking the time to stop by to support our site.

Sweet dreams.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

