Alaboutnothing Official Blog

August 15, 2009

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup follow up

Filed under: TV Commercials — alaboutnothing @ 1:56 am
Tags: , , , ,

Reeses

Just last week I saw that Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup commercial and it reminded me of the blog I did June 11, 2009. If you have not seen the commercial it opens by saying, “Sharing is a nice gesture…” then continues with “Stupid, but nice.”  Click here for a video

 To some folks this is just a sarcastic attempt by the Reese’s people to get some attention. It got my attention and every time I am at the store in the candy aisle looks for some munchies I make sure I do not buy the peanut butter cups I once enjoyed.

  Just think about the message they are sending out.  Does a five year old child understand what sarcastic means?  I don’t think so.  Most parents I know teach their children that sharing is a good thing, and builds character.  Then bozo’s like Reese’s put this garbage out there for all to see.

  Have you ever shared a smile with someone and seen the results?  Did you think it was stupid to share that smile?  Have you ever shared your happiness with someone?  Get the point?

  I think the Reese’s people should do a commercial that states, “Nice is a great gesture..” and then continue with “And the more you share the more happiness you will bring to the world.”  I think this would generate more sales of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups than the “stupid” comment.

  I have nothing more to add at this time except until I see a new commercial about Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups I will continue to purchase the competitors products.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

