Alaboutnothing Official Blog

August 8, 2009

So You Think You Can Dance Season 5 Wrap up

Filed under: TV Shows — alaboutnothing @ 2:16 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

so you think

 Once again congratulations to Jeanine for winning and becoming “America’s Favorite Dancer.”  I must admit I have not paid much attention to Jeanine, but her solo Wednesday night was one of the best, if not the best, solo this season.  She really “killed it!”  It got my attention and when Nigel said, “Your dancing is peaking at a perfect time.” I thought, “She has a great chance to win this year.”

   Over the entire season I think Kayla did the best as far as executing the pair routines, but she was not very good in the solo routines.  I looked back through my notes and could not find any one of her solos that was worth mentioning.  Initially Brandon was a front runner, and “killed” several solos, but I think he needed to bring his personality more in to his performances.  Evan was also one of my favorites.  I think he is more of a finesse dancer.  He is not powerful, but he is very entertaining.

  Actually congratulations to all the dancers for who made season 5 the best of all the seasons so far.  And to the choreographers who make the dancers look good and create the awesome routines I want to say, “Great Job!”

  I have to admit last nights finale was somewhat over the top.  I think it was far too long especially since Wednesday show was also two hours long.  As I remember on last year’s final show when the judges were asked about their favorite routines they picked two or three.  This year they picked nine and some of the judges even picked more than one.  Sheesh!  Talk about beating it to death, they managed to clog my head with a blur of dancing.  I had two favorites this year and they were the “Addiction” Routine danced by Kayla and Kupono and the “Breast Cancer” Routine danced by Melissa and Ade.

  A final note on SYTYCD and that is it is still one of the best inspirational shows on TV and I do very much enjoy watching.  Up to this season it has been a “summer season” show, but because of the popularity it has been scheduled for “prime season” this coming season.  Yes, that’s right, Season 6 starts this September 9th.  Just a few weeks from today and just enough time to clear my head from last nights blur of dancing.

  I hope you all out there in cyber-space enjoyed this season as much as I did and hope you plan to watch season 6 also.  The previews look exciting and I for one am looking forward to it.

  There is one thing I would like to see changed in this coming season and I mentioned it a few weeks ago.  Please stop Kat from saying “The journey stops here” when she is reading the results to the contestants.  That is like saying “Your career as a dancer is over if you get voted off of this show.”  She could say, “Your So You Think You Can Dance Journey stops here and its time to more on to other opportunities.”  Get my point?

  Well folks, it’s time to take a break and move on to other things for a few weeks.  Thank you all for reading my blogs about SYTYCD.  I have nothing more to say at this time……. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

