Alaboutnothing Official Blog

August 5, 2009

America’s Got Talent

Filed under: TV Shows — alaboutnothing @ 3:41 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

americas got talent

I have my reservations about this show, granted my focus has been on “So you Think You Can Dance”, but I have caught a few of these shows in between SYTYCD episodes.  The preliminary auditions were in my opinion a “joke”.  Most of the “acts” were what I would call a “circus” act.  Out of every hour there were maybe one or two “class” acts and the rest were a waste of time.  The “hype” on this show is “dreams”, Inspiration”, etc..  But I don’t see that happening overall.

So I watched a couple of the preliminary audition shows and they went on to send quite a few acts to the “Vegas” round.  (If I hear David H. say “You deserver it.” One more time I might just scream.)  Then on the first “Vegas” show instead of letting the folks following their dreams audition again, the judges sat in their private jet looking at the video tape from the preliminary auditions and began “cutting” acts.  They did not even give the folks a chance to audition again?  What the heck is that about?  I take that as a confirmation that the judges did not know what they were doing in the initial rounds.  So they watched the tapes and then broke the contestants in to groups.  Then in Vegas they “cut” the folks out that they determined should not go on.  Then of course, made sure the cameras were on to show the disappointed contestant’s reaction.  Ugh!

Then again tonight’s first hour the judges once again started cutting contestants based on the videos, except for the three dance groups where they had a “dance off” and let go two of the groups.  Again they made sure the cameras were on the contestants that were “cut” and the tears were flowing.  They also made a point of showing some of the folks begging to be put through.  I must say this is total bull!  I think this show is the kind of show to start watching when they get further in to the season when the “acts” are much better quality and hopefully the judges get their “act” together.

The second part of tonight was much better.  They started with twelve of the forty acts performing and even though the judges gave their ”two cent opinions”, the audience will determine who gets “cut” from her on.  Hopefully the judges will get some material also.  Get my point David?

The show is on again tomorrow night, but I will be watching the part one of the final two shows of “So You Think You Can Dance.”  I probably will tune in next week to see if the show has improved.

Nothing more to add except to the audience of America’s Got Talent I say, “You deserve better!”

2 Comments »

  1. You have to be kidding! The judges voted for Rory the dog over Charles?? It is a scam and scandal. To think I gave up watching SYTYCD to watch this joke. I am turned off of AGT thanks to the worthless freak circus act loving 2 judges.I hope to see and hear Charles somewhere again. Maybe he should travel to England to perform to sensible folks.

    Comment by Janice Guidry — August 13, 2009 @ 2:07 am | Reply

  2. Great story gotta love it!

    Here’s a new Talent Video Website you may like as well.
    U Got Talent . TV

    Comment by Talent Seaker — September 5, 2009 @ 4:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

